Following Global Events by Translating Global Languages

19 01 2011

Those who have followed my work over the past year or so know that I have an interest in global events. My past work with capturing and retelling the story behind the elections in Iran are just one example.

Today, I want to share another way to get at global stories. While speaking other languages is a wonderful thing (I am working on my Spanish), there are many times when it would be nice to be able to read information in languages that you don’t know. While this used to be sketchy at best, today’s tools make this much more feasible and the results can be very powerful.

This short video (7:20 min) will introduce you to how I use Google Translate to help me follow events around the world. To date, I have used this technique to follow events out of Iran related to the elections, the earthquake in Haiti, last year’s plane crash in Poland, and as you will see in this clip the mudslides in Brasil. This video was made using Camtasia Studio, Google Translate, Google Earth, Jaycut and TweetDeck.

Now it is your turn. See what you can learn from the social fabric of the web by following global stories as they unfold. Don’t let language be a barrier to your understanding. Here are the languages you can already follow through Google Translate. Listen to what the world has to say…

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 01 2011
Preconference Challenge: Teach Us Something Video Challenge | NAIS Annual Conference 2011 Community

[…] VIDEO To help you with this concept, I have created an example and posted it on my personal blog (as I hope many of you will do as well). In this example, I share with you how you can use Google […]

20 01 2011
The Daily Find: January 19, 2011 | NAIS Annual Conference 2011 Community

[…] Chris Bigenho Following global events by translating global languages Those who have followed my work over the past year or so know that I have an interest in global events. My past work with capturing and retelling the story behind the elections in Iran are just one example. Today, I want to share another way to get at global stories. While speaking other languages is a wonderful thing (I am working on my Spanish), there are many times when it would be nice to be able to read information in languages that…[MORE] […]

23 02 2011
The Daily Find: February 23, 2011 (Morning Ed.) | NAIS Annual Conference 2011 Community

[…] Chris Bigenho- Following Global Events by Translating Global Languages […]

Leave a Reply

