Presenting in Live Classroom 2.0- ARG’s

24 08 2009

Learning should be like a good book or an engaging game – you don’t want to stop! This presentation explores alternate reality gaming as an engaging, emerging learning environment that draws on the power of narrative and immerses students in collaborative, problem-based learning. Learn about this topic by personally playing an alternate reality game.

Date:
Saturday  August 29, 2009

Times:
9:00am Pacific/10:00am Mountain
11:00am Central/12:00pm Eastern

Location:
Online with Live Classroom 2.0

Join me at http://tinyurl.com/cr20live

For the curious…What will you be getting into when you attend this presentation on learning through ARG’s at Live Classroom 2.0?

Here are a few places to explore:

  1. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Beast_(game)
  2. Google the following term “Sentient Machine Therapist”. Anyone want to venture a guess as to why I would have you search this term? Ever see the movie A.I.? I hope you watched the credits! Check out ALL of the links from here- Welcome to the “rabbit hole”. The rabbit hole to what you ask? Hmm… Read on and all will be illuminated.
  3. http://www.cloudmakers.org/

More info and clues to follow. The game is right around the corner. Learn about ARG’s as learning environments when you join me for a 1 hour game on Saturday August 29th (9:00am Pacific/10:00am Mountain 11:00am Central/12:00pm Eastern). Enter game/presentation through http://tinyurl.com/cr20live.

Actions

Information

3 responses

29 08 2009
Paula Naugle

Thanks Chris. I just attended the Classroom 2.0 Live session you presented on ARGs. It was fun and very fast paced. I surprised myself at how well I did with multi-tasking as you lead us through the game format. Since this is brand new to me, I’m glad I attended. I need to figure out how to use this with my fourth graders so I’ll be checking out the links provided.

Again thank you and happy gaming.

1 09 2009
Mark S

I was not able to attend the presentation. Is it archived?

3 09 2009
bigenhoc

Yes. You can find it on Live Classroom 2.0 and I will also be linking to it from my blog. I just need a moment to make that happen.

Leave a Reply

