The grand kick off!

11 02 2005

I have been struggling with being sick and playing catch-up with no energy. While I am not sure how this mentoring project will turn out, I am going to proceed as this is something that I have wanted to have in this area for some time. I say this knowing that this past week was a rough week and that through a chain of events, a possible goldmine of a mentoring opportunity may have just landed in my lap. I am sure that I will also pursue that route as well as I don’t want this opportunity to pass me by. It has the potential of eventually, it time, paying off with grand change in the school. I will have a separate entry on this event as it was an interesting chain of events.

The following is the kick off post for the group mentoring online of the tech teachers, coordinators and directors in the area.

Greetings from Greenhill. I just got back from Florida where I attended FETC, listened to some wonderful guest speakers, took class through Pepperdine and spent some quality time hanging out with some great minds in educational technology. Wow, what an experience. I am still trying to recover from the late nights with Gary Stager listening to him hold court or share his adventures in and opinions of the world of education.

If there was one thing that resonated true from this experience, we need to really try to visualize what education could be 10 and 15 years from now. What role will the computer play in that picture? Listening to professor Chris Dede from the Harvard Graduate School of Education discuss neomillennial learning styles provided a glimpse of what is to come.

To kick this thing off and help all of us focus, I thought it would be good for each of us to list some goals for this group. Breaking the ice, I humbly submit the following:

  • Increase professional dialogue regarding educational pedagogy among the Dallas Independent schools
  • Share our expertise where we can, helping the community with issues and questions they may have from their workplaces.
  • Be active in the community. As a group of professionals in education, we are very busy. It is impossible to keep up with advances in technology. But as a community of practice, we can help each other stay abreast of changes, trends and thoughts in technology.

Share current readings and insight with the group related to education and technology.
As a group, experiment with new tools and new ways of using old tools.

I am hoping that this will be an active community of sharing. Please feel free to post some of your goals and expectations as well as any topics that you want to discuss.

Since Tapped-In may be a new tool for some, it might also be fun to explore as a group this resource. While the discussion board works well with our busy schedule, I would love for us to also try to meet on-line using the Tapped-In chat feature. All we need to do is find a common time to meet. We could even use it as a time to invite a guest speaker to interact with us as a virtual “lunch seminar”.

I am looking forward to our time of sharing and learning together. I know that we all share many of the same issues at our workplaces. With the combined wisdom of this group, we may have a better time finding ways to address these issues, improve our individual practices and increase our collective knowledge of educational technology.

Humbly Submitted
Chris Bigenho

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

